News and Events

« Back to news and events

Excellence in Virginia Government Awards

Tenth Annual Excellence in Virginia Government Awards
Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014
11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Richmond Marriott

Register now »
Sponsorship information » Get Adobe Reader

The Excellence in Virginia Government Awards (EVGA) are presented by VCU’s L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs to celebrate the accomplishments of Virginians who have made distinctive contributions to the practice of government and to the well-being of our communities and our citizens. Now entering its tenth year, the EVGA has become a hallmark of excellence for both VCU and the commonwealth of Virginia. Last year’s ceremony was a tremendous success with more than 300 individuals and 21 sponsors attending the event.

2013 award winners

Recipients of the 2013 Excellence in Virginia Government Awards include:

Lifetime Achievement
The Honorable Lacey E. Putney
Virginia House of Delegates

Public Private Partnership
Office of Transportation Public-Private Partnerships, Commonwealth of Virginia
Tony Kinn, Executive Director

Innovation in Government
Virginia Values Veterans
Paul E. Galanti, Commissioner
Department of Veterans Services

Community Enhancement
The Thrifty Spot, Mathews County Public Schools
Cathy Walker, Special Education Teacher

Unsung Hero
Stephen Falden
Administrative and Program Specialist
Southern Virginia Mental Health Institute

Hill-Robinson Expansion of Freedom Award
The Honorable Yvonne B. Miller
*Awarded posthumously

View the award categories and past recipients » Get Adobe Reader


The EVGA ceremony offers an ideal opportunity to recognize exemplary leadership and innovation while expanding interest and excitement in the field of public service. Generally, public nominations are reviewed between May and August each year.

Learn more about making a public nomination » Get Adobe Reader

Public nominations made after April 15, 2014 will be considered for the 2015 EVGA ceremony.


To sponsor the 2014 EVGA, please read our sponsorship information handout Get Adobe Reader or visit our registration page to sign up.

For more information, please contact:
Diana "Gay" Cutchin
Internship Coordinator
Phone: (804) 827-2417